Off the needles: Stockholm Scarf

December 24, 2010 § 4 Comments

A little over a month ago, I asked my mom what she wanted for Christmas, and she said she didn’t want anything because she had everything she needed. To my surprise, she added, “Why don’t you make me something?”

The last time I made something for my mom for Christmas, I was like…5. And it was one of those ornaments that you made in kindergarten with your face planted on a laminated construction paper star. I had really bushy eyebrows back then…

Anyway, my mom had seen me wearing my Purl Ridge Scarf that day, and really liked it, so she asked if I could make her something like it, but in teal.

I spent the next few weeks researching patterns on Ravelry and Google, trying to find the perfect eternity scarf and the perfect yarn to go with it. I found a few patterns that I thought would be okay, and then fell in love with Julie’s Stockholm Scarf pattern for its simplicity and style! Because my mom has a shorter neck (sorry mom…), wearing a low draping scarf would suit her better than some of the other eternity scarves I was considering, which are worn higher up on the neck.

I combed the city for the perfect teal, but had no luck, so I ended up ordering some Knit Picks Merino Style in Kenai! I was a bit worried that the colour wouldn’t be anything close to what I saw on my computer screen, but it was PERFECT!

Unfortunately, the yarn took an extra long time to get here, so by the time I got it, I had only a couple of weeks to knit. Between work and having a social life (hard to imagine, I know…), I was left with a total of 6 evenings to knit this up. And I must be the slowest knitter ever, because I used every single bit of those 6 evenings to finish it in time for Christmas!

C/O: The pattern calls for 252 stitches, but because I used US8 instead of US10 needles (I got better stitch definition with the smaller needles), I cast on 301. On the downside, it took EXTRA forever to finish.

Knitting Style: In the round (pattern is written for flat knitting). I posted a chart on my Ravelry project page for knitting in the round.

Yarn: Approximately 4.5 balls of Knit Picks Merino Style in Kenai (about 550 yards)

Dimensions (after blocking): 7.5″ x 30″ø (60″ around)…would’ve liked to have done the full 14″ width, but I was pretty short on time…

Bind off: Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off

Extra Specialness: Since I didn’t really like the smell of wet wool, I spritzed some of Philosophy’s Falling in Love on it during the blocking process.

Want to knit this too? Check out Julie’s blog for more details!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Off the needles: Stockholm Scarf

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Off the needles: Stockholm Scarf at love&knitologie.

meta

