On the shelf: Cookbooks (in general)

November 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

Photo by theladymargaret

I don’t know about you, but when I buy cookbooks, I buy them based on 2 main criteria:

  1. The pictures are pretty.
  2. The recipes sound delicious.

The problem with this is the fact that I prefer to live below my means, where I have a meagre budget to spend on food every week. That being said, the above criteria usually means splurging on expensive AND fresh ingredients. The result is usually delicious, but I end up feeling guilty and go back to living off of spaghetti and canned soup to make me feel better. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t live off of instant meals all the time, but for the days where you just don’t feel like cooking, they are pretty handy…

So I have yet to purchase a cookbook that suits me and my needs. I’m a very visual person, and I like to see what things should look like in the end, so if a cookbook doesn’t have pictures, it’s automatically a write off on my list.

A couple of months after I moved out on my own, my mom bought me one of those “First Time Cooks” cookbooks (which she also happened to buy for my older brother when he moved to Calgary). I flipped through it, but there weren’t any pictures!

And so it sits neatly on my shelf, looking brand new. *sigh*

I’m sure the book has loads of potential, and most of the information and advice is very practical, but all I want is a little something to look at to get my imagination going.

You can describe food all you want, but a picture is worth a thousand tastebuds.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On the shelf: Cookbooks (in general) at love&knitologie.

meta

