A Country Snow-down!

November 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

Well, I got my wish.

And I probably should have thought twice about it.

This past weekend, I trekked out to The Farm for a surprise bridal shower for my future sis-in-law (unofficially). It had snowed a bit, but most of it had either melted, or turned brown/gray/gross, so I didn’t consider it snow. Trav had left earlier that morning to go hunting (again), and left me behind because I’m not a morning person. I eventually got up around 11am and ran some quick errands before heading out west.

When I got there, I was relieved to see that the kittens were still there. The Farm Cat had given birth to five kittens a few weeks earlier in the combine. Unfortunately, one of the kittens didn’t make it after it was dropped accidentally while being transported from the combine to the house. Still, the four remaining kittens are a handful! It’s just so much fun to see all their personalities come out!

The kittens just melted my heart. I always thought of myself as a dog person, but I’ve been somewhat converted after holding the little balls of fur and claws. And boy, do they have claws! I accidentally trained them to climb up my legs, so I have to warn people now about being a “personal jungle gym”. Whoops…

By the time Travis got back, Pickles (my fave kitten) had fallen asleep in my arms after playing “chase the ball of yarn and eat the knot at the end”. It was the cutest thing ever, but I didn’t have my camera on me at the time. Big regrets now. 😦

The evening flew by quickly as we tried to distract the bride-to-be from anything that might give the surprise away! And we succeeded…but barely. There were so many things that could have BLOWN IT for us (ex. secret looks, nervous laughs, a flurry of shadows, heads poking up behind windows, lots of loud “SHH”ing), but we got lucky. SO LUCKY. Fortunately for me, I now know what to look for when it’s my turn…which will be soon, hopefully. After 4 years, 2 months, and 18 days (not like I’m keeping track or anything), I’m getting a wee bit impatient.  Haha. Ahh…

The shower was a great time to catch up with everyone, play some hilarious bridal shower games, and shop (!!!) for Epicure products! Unfortunately, I didn’t buy anything because I got caught up in conversations and eating food (as usual), but there were so many things I wanted to buy/eat that I’m pretty sure Trav was relieved that I didn’t bring my cheque book. He gets riled up by my yarn expenses as it is.

My original plan was to leave the shower early in order to make it back to the city at a decent hour, but with all the food around, and all the laughs that needed to be shared, we didn’t get back to The Farm until 10pm. So I stayed the night, and woke up to a peaceful country snow fall.

Again, big regrets that I didn’t have my camera with me. It was beautiful.

On the other hand, it also gave me some trouble. Trav had left earlier that morning to do some more hunting, while I attempted to leave for the city at 8:30am, only to get stuck in the driveway. Twice. Trav’s parents helped push me out, and by the time I got out of the drive way, down the road, and onto the main highway, I realized that this was going to be a lot riskier than I thought. None of the lanes had been cleared, and it was only at the intersection of the Trans Canada Highway where I finally saw a snow plow, going in the opposite direction I was heading.

The first chance I got, I made a U-turn and went back to The Farm. It was probably one of the better decisions I’ve made in this lifetime.

So I got snowed in, for the first time ever! Even when we were kids, and got 5ft of snow, we never got a Snow Day. We still had to walk to school (no, it wasn’t 6 million miles away, but it sure felt like it at times).

Trav and I did end up making it back to the city that night. By then, the roads had been cleared, and there was less chaos in the city.

But, to tell you the truth, I would’ve rather been snowed in at The Farm.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Country Snow-down! at love&knitologie.

meta

